Audit Logs

Audit Logs

From LongJump Support Wiki

Audit Logs
Jump to: navigation, search

Settings > Administration > Audit Logs

Audit logs display a full history of actions in the platform.

Contents

About Audit Logs

Audit Logs track the following actions by default:

  • All changes to data (additions, modifications and deletions)
  • Customizations to the platform
Optionally, an Enhanced Security Audit can be enabled. This increases the audit scope to log these additional actions:
  • All record access attempts
  • Unsuccessful or unauthorized access attempts

ISVs also have a Global Audit Log they can use to track information from all tenants.

Working with Audit Logs

File:Lock-tiny.gif

  • See the Audit Log link displayed in the Settings area
  • View records in the Audit Log owned by the user's team(s) (including secondary team(s)
  • View records in the Audit Log for any child team of the user's team(s)

View an Audit Log

  1. Click Settings > Administration > Audit Logs.
    The Audit Logs page opens and displays a log of activities by user.
    These fields are displayed in the Audit Log:
    • Activity Date
    • Description
    • Object
    • User
  2. Click the Next link to view additional log pages.
  3. To change the sort order, click a column heading.

Create an Audit Log View

To create a new view of user activities:

  1. Click Settings > Administration > Audit Logs.
    The Audit Logs page opens and displays a log of activities by user.
  2. Click the View Icon, and select New View from the drop-down list.
    The Create Audit Logs View page opens. The default setting includes the four columns available for the log view: User, Activity Date, Object, and Description.
    • To remove any of the default columns from the new view, select the column name in the Selected Columns list, and click the left-arrow button .
    • If there are entries in the Available Columns list that you want to include in the new view, select them and click the right-arrow button .
  3. Rearrange the Selected Columns, as necessary, by clicking the up and down arrow buttons.
  4. Select the column by which you want to First Sort By, then the Sort Order.
  5. Choose a second sort criteria and sort order, if desired.
  6. Select the Visibility option you want to apply to this view:
    Visible Only to Me
    The view appears only in your own View list.
    Visible to Everyone
    The view appears in the View list for all users in your company.
    Visible to Specific Users
    The view appears in the View list only for the users you select. When you select this option, a text box and Lookup button appear. Click the button and select the users you want to have access to this view. You can remove users by clicking the Remove button .
    Visible to Specific Roles
    The view appears in the View list only for users with roles that you specify. Click the Lookup button to select the roles you want to have access to this view. You can remove roles by clicking the Remove button.
    Visible to Specific Teams
    The view appears in the View list only for users that belong to teams that you specify. Click the Lookup button to select the teams you want to have access to this view. You can remove teams by clicking the Remove button.
  7. Click [Preview] to see the new view.
  8. Click [Save] to save the view without setting up filters
    -OR-
    Enter a View Name, and click [Save As]
    -OR-
  9. Click the Filter tab to complete the new custom log view, and save your changes.
See Views for more information.

Filter the Audit Log

Find activity history (Audit Log):

  1. Click Settings > Administration > Audit Logs.
    The Audit Log page opens and displays a list of activity records.
  2. Use the Filter icon File:DoubleDownIcon.png to determine which records are listed:
    Learn more: Views

Enhanced Security Audit

  1. Click Settings > Administration > Company Information > Edit
  2. In the Logging All Access Settings section, choose the preferred log options:
    Log All Record Access
    If enabled, any record access, including search, is logged
    • Object record access
    • Object tab access
    • Search or Advanced search
    • Any View access or updates
    • Any Report executed from the Report tabs
    Log All Access Violations
    If enabled, any access violation is logged
    • Most access violations occur when a user attempts to access an element in the platform, but does not have the appropriate permission, and so an error message is triggered; Some examples are: You do not have the permission to access this record, Invalid access, You do not have permission for this operation

Delete an Audit Log

Records in an Audit Log can be deleted using the Mass Delete Data feature.

Auto-Purge Audit Logs

This option provides the ability to configure an automatic data purge of the Audit Log, based on some number of days. All audit log entries older than the specified number days are purged automatically.

File:Lock-tiny.gif

Users that have the Manage Audit Log permission can configure auto-purge settings 

When the auto-purge option is specified, for example with a retention period of 10 days, then any record in the Audit Log that is more than 10 days old is permanently deleted. The auto-purge action may not happen immediately, but the purge action is scheduled every day.

Considerations
  • In a purge action, the audit log entries are deleted permanently and cannot be restored
  • The auto-purge action bypasses any Recycle Bin restore option
  • By default, auto-purge is disabled

To configure Auto-Purge for Audit Log records:

  1. Click Settings > Administration > Audit Logs
  2. Click the [Purge Settings] button
  3. Specify the number of days to retain the Audit Log entries
    The number of days must be a positive number, greater than zero
    If the number of days is equal to zero, Auto-Purge is disabled
    Field label
    Retention Period (Days)
  4. Click [Save]

The Audit Log includes a log of any actions related to Auto-purge settings.

Learn More

Personal tools