Make Views/Reports Visible to Others

Make Views/Reports Visible to Others

From LongJump Support Wiki

Make Views/Reports Visible to Others
Jump to: navigation, search

This permission gives users the ability to make specified Views or Reports visible to other users. It is also required to share Document Folders with others.

Considerations
  • The Make Views/Reports Visible to Others permission is enabled by default in all new Access Profiles
  • If Make Views/Reports Visible to Others permission are enabled, then users also have Make Views/Reports Visible to Others permission enabled by default
  • If Manage Global Views/Reports permission are enabled, then Make Views/Reports Visible to Others permission is also enabled (as an override)
  • The Make Views/Reports Visible to Others permission is set in [Administrative Permissions]]
How it Works
The following actions are available in Views, Reports, Folders and Home Pages elements when the Make Views/Reports Visible to Others permission is enabled or disabled:
Make Views/Reports Visible to Others
Element Enabled Disabled

Views

  • Has full control over views created by the user (Can create [New], [Edit], [Save], [Save As], [Delete], set [Visibility], etc.)
  • Can create new views and set Visibility
  • Can [View], [Edit]/[Save] or [Delete] existing views created by the User and set Visibility
  • Can [View] or [Edit]/[Save As] views created by the Platform and set Visibility
  • Can [View] or [Edit]/[Save As] views created by other Users, if the User has Visibility rights to the view
  • Cannot create new views
  • If Create/Delete View/Report/HomePage permission are enabled, can create a new view, but Visibility is set to Visible to me only

Reports

  • Has full control over reports created by the user (Can create [New], [Run], [Customize], [Save], [Save As], [Excel Print], [HTML Print], [Export], [Delete], etc.)
  • Can create new Reports
  • Can [Run], [Edit]/[Save] or [Delete] existing reports created by the User
  • Can [Run] or [Customize]/[Save As] reports created by the platform
  • Can [Run] or [Customize]/[Save As] reports created by other Users, if the User has Visibility Control and Sharing rights to the report folder
  • Can not create new reports
  • If Make Views/Reports Visible to Others permission is enabled, can create new report, and can [Save As] to My Report Folder or other folders created by the User
  • If Make Views/Reports Visible to Others permission is enabled, can [Run], [Customize] an existing report and can [Save As] to My Report Folder or other folders created by the User

Folders

  • Has full control over folders created by the user (Can create [New], [Edit], [Save], [Delete], set Visibility Control, Reorder Folders, etc.)
  • Can create new folders and set Visibility Control and Sharing rights
  • When creating a new folder, can move reports from Unfiled Reports folder to folder(s) created by the User
  • When creating a new folder, can move reports from Unfiled Reports folder to folder(s) created by other users, if the user has Visibility permission
  • Can [Reorder] existing folders created by the User
  • Can [Run] and [Customize] reports in Unfiled Reports Folder or other System Reports and [Save As] to any folder created by the User and set Visibility Control and Sharing rights
  • Can [Delete] existing folders created by the User (the deleted reports are moved to the Unfiled Report Folder)
  • Can not [Customize] or [Delete] folder(s) created by other users
  • Can create new folder(s) with Visibility set to Visible only to me
  • Can [Edit] folder(s) created by the User and move reports from Unfiled Reports folder to the new folder
  • Can [Delete] folder(s) created by the User (the deleted reports are moved to the Unfiled Report Folder)
  • Can not [Edit] or [Delete] folder(s) created by other users
  • Can not [Save]/[Save As] a report to the Unfiled Reports folder, or to a folder created by other users

Home Page

  • Has full control over Pages created by the user (users can [Edit], [Add], [Add Widget], [Save], [Clone], [Delete], [Set as Default])
  • Can create a new Page and set Visibility
  • Can clone an existing Page
  • Can edit new or cloned pages created by the User
  • Can not edit or delete System-Generated pages or pages created by other users
  • Can delete Pages created the User
  • Can add Widget(s) to pages created by the User
  • Can not add or delete widget(s) in System-Generated pages or pages created by other users
  • Can edit, delete or reposition Widgets on pages created by the user
  • Can not edit, delete or reposition Widgets on System-Generated pages or pages created by other users
  • Can not create a new page
  • Can not clone, edit or delete pages
  • If Make Views/Reports Visible to Others permission is enabled, can add pages, but Visibility set to Visible only to me
About [Save] and [Save As]
  • The [Save] and [Save As] actions allow reports to be saved to these folders:
  • My Report
  • Unfiled Public Report
  • Folder(s) created by the User
  • Folder(s) that the User can access (via Visibility Controls)
  • [Save] replaces the original report
  • [Save As] makes a copy of the report to the selected folder
Personal tools