Manage Global Views/Reports

Manage Global Views/Reports

From LongJump Support Wiki

Manage Global Views/Reports
Jump to: navigation, search

This permission defines how users can manage all Views and Reports from the Views and Reports option in Settings. Additional controls for Folders and Home Pages are provided as well.

Considerations
  • This is a global permission, affecting elements created by other Users, without their permission or knowledge
  • As a global permission it also affects Default/System-Generated elements created by the platform
  • When Manage Global Views/Reports permission is enabled, then the Make Views/Reports Visible to Others and Create/Delete Views/Reports/Homepages permissions are enabled, by default
About Creating Views, Reports or Home Pages
  • Elements created by the platform are known as Default/System-Generated elements
  • When a user creates a View, Report or Home Page, that Username is retained in the Created By field
  • By default, Users are granted permission to edit or delete these self-created Views, Reports and Home Pages
How it Works
The following actions are available in Views, Reports, Folders and Home Pages elements when the Manage Global Views/Reports permission is enabled or disabled:
Manage Global Views/Reports
Element Enabled Disabled

Views

  • Has full control over all Views in the platform (including Default/System-Generated Views and Views created by all Users)
  • Can create [New], [Edit], [Save], [Save As], [Delete], set [Visibility], etc.
  • Results of any change are implemented globally across the platform and affect all Users
  • Can delete self-created views
  • Can delete Views created by other users who have Visibility rights to the view
  • Can delete views created by other users
  • Can delete Default/System-Generated Views, however users who have Visibility rights to the view can still see the view

Reports

  • Has full control over all Reports in the platform (including Default/System-Generated Reports and Reports created by all Users)
  • Can create [New], [Customize], [Save]/[Save As] to selected Folder, [Delete], etc.
  • Results of any change are implemented globally across the platform and affect all Users

Folders

  • Can create new folders and set Visibility
  • Can [Run], [Customize]/[Save As] reports to a new folder, if the User has Visibility rights to the folder
  • User can edit any folder and move any report from Unfiled Reports Folder to Reports in this Folder list and save it and can change visibility control criteria
  • Can delete Folder(s), if the User has Visibility rights to the folder, except Default/System-Generated folders
  • Deleted folders and any reports contained in the folder are moved to the Unfiled Report Folder
  • Can edit and set Visibility on folders created by other users
  • When the Visibility is set to Visible to me, then the folder is visible to the user, and to the user who originally created the folder
  • Can move any report from Unfiled Reports Folder to any folder via [Save As] action

- - -

Home Pages

  • Can create a new Page and set Visibility
  • Can clone an existing Page
  • Can edit new or cloned pages created by any User
  • Can edit Default/System-Generated pages
  • Can delete Pages created by any User
  • Can delete Default/System-Generated pages
  • Can add Widget(s) to pages created by any User
  • Can add Widget(s) to Default/System-Generated pages
  • Can edit, delete or reposition Widgets on pages created by any user
  • Can edit, delete or reposition Widgets on Default/System-Generated pages

- - -

About [Save] and [Save As]
  • The [Save] and [Save As] actions allow reports to be saved to these folders:
  • My Report
  • Unfiled Public Report
  • Folder(s) created by the User
  • Folder(s) that the User can access (via Visibility Controls)
  • [Save] replaces the original report
  • [Save As] makes a copy of the report to the selected folder
Personal tools