More Actions

More Actions

From LongJump Support Wiki

More Actions
Jump to: navigation, search

This feature offers a way to apply changes to multiple records in one (batch) process. Applying bulk actions in this manner can save a significant amount of time, compared to editing records individually.

Contents

About More Actions

Typically, Actions include the following options:

Optionally, the following additional Actions may be available, depending on the type of object you select:

Apply Actions

  1. To select the records you want to include in the Action, choose one of these methods:
    • In a View, click Checkbox(es) to select individual records; Optionally, navigate to the next/previous page to select records in multiple pages
    • Click the All link, to select all of the records on the page; Optionally, navigate to the next/previous page to select records in multiple pages
  2. Select one of the Action options
  3. The list of selected records will be displayed along with an action button. Click the action button to confirm, or click the [Cancel] button to stop the process.

Update

To update a small group of records:

  1. Click the Object of interest
  2. Select the View containing the records of interest
  3. Select the check box next to the records you want to include; Optionally, click All to include all visible records. Click the All link again to deselect the selected records.
  4. Click the More Actions button and choose Update
  5. Optionally, click the button to select additional records, or select a record and click the Remove button to delete a name from the list
  6. Under Mass Update Data, select the Field to be updated, and enter the new Value
  7. Click the Update button, and confirm the action. The records are updated to reflect these changes.


For large, batch update operations, see: Offline Processing for Batches of 2500 Records or More

Delete Record

File:Lock-tiny.gif

When data in a record is no longer needed, it can be deleted. Consider Mass Operations to delete multiple records (more records than is typically displayed on a page View).

Delete a Record

  1. In any application, click the tab containing the record you want to delete
  2. Select a record and open it
  3. Click the [Delete] button
The deleted record will be moved to the Recycle Bin

Delete Selected Records

To delete selected records:

  1. Click the checkbox for the records you want to transfer
  2. Click the More Actions button and choose Delete
  3. Review the list of records to be deleted; Optionally, modify the list with the Lookup or the Delete icons
  4. Click the [Delete] button, and confirm your action
The deleted records will be moved to the Recycle Bin

For large, batch update operations, see: Offline Processing for Batches of 2500 Records or More

Transfer

When a Task is created, ownership of the task can be assigned to an individual or to a group of users:

  • Individual assignment: Assign the task to a Team Member
  • Group assignment: Transfer Ownership for a Group of Records

Transfer Task Ownership

In order to Transfer Task Ownership, you must have the Change Ownership of others Records permission enabled in Available Permissions.

To transfer a task to another user:

  1. Click the Tasks tab
  2. Click the checkbox next to the task(s) you want to transfer
  3. Click the [More Actions] button and select the Transfer option
  4. Enter the user name in the Mass Change Ownership section, or click the Lookup button to select the user name
  5. Click the [Go] button. The task is removed from your list of Tasks, and will appear on the Tasks page for the selected user

If you have administrative privileges in the platform, you can proxy login as this user to confirm that the task(s) have been transferred. See Customer Support Login for more information.

When you transfer ownership, the new owner will automatically be notified by email.

Transfer Ownership for a Group of Records

To transfer ownership for a group of records:

  1. Click the checkbox for the records you want to transfer
  2. Click the [More Actions] button and choose Transfer
  3. In the Mass Change Ownership section, enter the name of the new owner for these records, or click the [Lookup] button to select a name from the list of other team members
  4. Click the [Transfer] button, and confirm your action

The selected records are transferred to the new owner. This change will appear in the details page for each record.

Click the record name to view the details page.

For large, batch update operations, see: Offline Processing for Batches of 2500 Records or More

Create Task

Create Task is an option in More Actions, which allows you to add the same task to multiple records.

Create View from Selections

Create View is an option in More Actions, that allows you to create a custom View from the records you select.

To Create a Custom View from selected records:

  1. Open the desired object, Contacts, for example
  2. Optionally, filter the view to display selected records
  3. Optionally, click any column heading to change the sort order (A-Z);click again to toggle and reverse the sort order (Z-A)
  4. Use the checkbox to select the records to include in the custom View
  5. Click the [More Actions] button, and select [Create View]
Personal tools