Recycle Bin

Recycle Bin

From LongJump Support Wiki

Recycle Bin
Jump to: navigation, search

Settings > Recycle Bin

The LongJump Platform lets you recover deleted data from the Recycle Bin.

Contents

About the Recycle Bin

When a record is deleted, the record and all the related information are moved into a temporary holding area called the Recycle Bin. Records in the Recycle Bin are held for 30 days before they are automatically and permanently deleted.

For example, if a user deletes an Account then that account will be moved into the Recycle Bin, including all Contacts, Contracts, Campaigns, and Events that are related to the account.

File:Lock-tiny.gif

  • View or permanently delete records owned by the user's team(s) (including secondary team(s)
  • View or permanently delete records in any child team of the user's team(s) 

What Related Information Is Deleted?

The following related information is moved into the Recycle Bin when a user deletes a record from a Built-in or CRM object:

When Deleting a Record from this Object... ...this Related Information is Affected Considerations
AccountContacts, Contracts, Events, Documents(Notes and Attachments), Related Tags
ContactEvents, Documents (Notes/Attachments), Related Tags
  • If the primary contact is restored, it is restored as a regular contact, not as a Primary Contact
ProspectContacts, Events, Documents, Related Tags
TaskChild Tasks, Documents (Notes/Attachments)
OpportunityEvents, Documents (Notes/Attachments), Forecasts, Opportunity products, Opportunity contacts, Opportunity Lifecycle, Revenue Distribution, Related Tags
  • If the opportunity Stage is Closed Won, then the revenue earned from this opportunity is deducted from the marketing campaign's generated revenue (if opportunity came by using some marketing campaign)
  • If this opportunity is restored then campaign revenue is updated accordingly
ContractEvents, Documents (Notes/Attachments), Related Tags
Documents Documents, Folders, Templates, Files
CasesEvents, Case History, Case comments, Documents (Notes/Attachments), Related Tags
ObjectsDocuments, Events, Lookup fields, Subform, Related Information, Task/Appointments, Notes/Attachments

If an Object is Restored from the Recycle Bin:

  • Lookup references, Subforms and Related Information is lost forever as it is being removed when the object is put into recycle bin
CampaignsCampaign, Contract amount
Data PoliciesData Policy Actions
Data Policy ActionData policy Action, Action Order of execution
ValidationsValidations
  • If a validation is deleted, it is no longer used for validation on "add", "update" or "delete" actions
  • If the validation is restored, it will be active from that point in time
Views/ReportsViews, Reports The ability to access Views/Reports is defined by Access Permissions

Learn more: Create/Delete Views/Reports/Homepages

Web TabsWeb tabFor Web Tabs used as Widgets:
  • If the Web Tab is deleted the widget is deleted
  • If the Web Tab is restored, the widget is restored
ProductsPrice Book Lists
  • If the deleted product is one of the entries in the Price Book, the product is detached from the Price Book
  • If the product is restored from the Recycle Bin at a later time, it will become available under the product list, but it will not be restored to the attached price book
Price BooksProduct Lists
  • When a price book is deleted, the price book will be sent to the Recycle Bin and the products attached will all be detached from the deleted price book
  • Restoring a price book will make the price book become available in price book tab, but the previous attached products will not be restored

Object Inheritance

Inherited Objects have special behavior in Delete actions.

Delete Records from the Parent Object

When a record is deleted from the Parent Object:

Subform Object

An Object that is the target of a Lookup typically displays the Related Records in a Subform.

When the target object and the related Subform object have different Recycle Deleted Records settings in the Object Properties, the guidelines described below apply, whether or not the related records are actually displayed in a subform. (The relationship exists, even if it is not clearly visible in an Object Subform.)

File:notepad.png

Note:
These deletion guidelines for Subforms apply to Custom Objects only.
They do not apply to Built-in Objects or CRM Objects
(Those rules are explained above.)

In these examples, the related objects are named as follows:

  • Base Object
  • Subform Object
When a record is deleted from... Subform record is... ...based on this Recycling Configuration
Subform ObjectMoved to the Recycle BinSubform Object: Soft Delete

Base Object: n/a

Subform ObjectDeleted ForeverSubform Object: Hard Delete

Base Object: n/a

Base ObjectDeleted ForeverSubform Object: Soft Delete

Base Object: Hard Delete

Base ObjectMoved to the Recycle BinSubform Object: Soft Delete

Base Object: Soft Delete

Base ObjectDeleted ForeverSubform Object: Hard Delete

Base Object: n/a

Impact on Data

Merging Records

When two records are merged, the secondary record is moved to Recycle Bin, but all related information will not be moved to recycle bin. Instead, related information from the secondary record is moved to the primary record.

If a user tries to restore the secondary record, it will be restored but without all its related information.

Importing Data

Lets say, we deleted an account named "ABC" and it went into recycle bin. Now, next day if someone imports the same account "ABC", then a new account "ABC" will be created.Now, if user restores the deleted account "ABC", in that case the account will be restored and will not merge with an existing account. Therefore, now there will be two accounts with same name "ABC".

Effect on Data Policy Actions

Data policies will be automatically re-ordered when an action is deleted. When an action is restored, it will be added to the end of the process queue. For example, if these named actions are in the data policy:

  1. "ABC"
  2. "XYZ"
  3. "JKL"

Deleting action named "XYZ", will result in the following actions:

  1. "ABC"
  2. "JKL"

Restoring "XYZ" will adjust the order to the following:

  1. "ABC"
  2. "JKL"
  3. "XYZ"

Impact on Administrators

Effect on Role Based management and Teams

When viewing the Recycle Bin, users will only be able to see records that they have deleted, unless they have Manage Recycle Bin permission.

Effect on Search

Records in the Recycle Bin will not be found during search.

Admin Access

If the administrator has Manage Recycle Bin permission, they can restore any record that they see from the Recycle Bin, regardless of who it was that deleted the record.

Audit Log

The audit log will keep logs for when records are deleted forever and restored.

Purge Deleted Records

Every Friday, the platform will automatically and permanently delete all the records that were put into the Recycle Bin 30-days before.

Working with the Recycle Bin

When records are added to the Recycle Bin, they no longer appear in Views or Reports. The record and all related information are effectively removed from normal processing in the platform.

Records in the Recycle Bin are held for 30 days before they are automatically and permanently deleted

File:notepad.png

Note: An operation on 2500 records or more will be processed Offline.

To view the Recycle Bin:

  1. Click Settings > Recycle Bin
    A list of records in the Recycle Bin is displayed
  2. Optionally, choose to Restore individual records or Delete Forever.
  3. Or choose to Empty the Recycle Bin

Restore

This option restores the data and all the related information that was deleted.

To restore records:

  1. Click the checkbox next to the record(s) of interest
  2. Click [More Actions]
  3. Click Restore to move the selected records out of the Recycle Bin and back into normal use

Delete Forever

This option permanently deletes a record and its related information.

These records cannot be recovered

To permanently delete record(s):

  1. Click the checkbox next to the record(s) of interest
  2. Click [More Actions]
  3. Click Delete Forever to permanently delete the selected records

Empty the Recycle Bin

This option permanently deletes all records in the Recycle Bin, and all of their related information.

These records cannot be recovered

To empty the Recycle Bin:

  1. Click the [Empty Recycle Bin] button
  2. Confirm your action to permanently delete the contents of the Recycle Bin.
Personal tools