Views and Reports

Views and Reports

From LongJump Support Wiki

Views and Reports
Jump to: navigation, search

__NUMBEREDHEADINGS__Settings > Administration > Views and Reports

Views and Reports let you organize your data and get a high-level perspective on your business.

Contents

1. About Views and Reports

Views and Reports can be displayed as Widgets on a home page to act as a dashboard for key information. Once created, Views and Reports can be printed or exported to a .CSV file.

1.1 Views

Views are a means to organize object data in a way that is meaningful to specific tasks, teams or users. Views present data in a list format, along with optional settings to customize and save views for reference or analysis. Users can create custom views with filters to isolate key information quickly and easily.

Views offer Visibility controls to determine access permission by specific Users, Teams or Roles.

Learn more: Views

1.2 Reports

The platform's reporting engine provides a full set of options for users to dissect and refine into the format needed to make strategic business decisions or to monitor key performance indicators. Data can be filtered, ordered, color-coded, grouped, or charted into insightful management reports.

Learn more: Reports.

2. Working with Administration Settings for Views and Reports

File:Lock-tiny.gif

Users that have the Manage Global Views/Reports permission can edit or delete any View or Report 
Considerations
  • Changes made here are global. They override any user settings. All users are affected when a View or Report is changed or deleted.
  • There are restrictions on the use of Multi Object Lookup fields in a View or a Report.
    Learn more: Multi Object Lookup Considerations

2.1 Edit Views

  1. Click Settings > Administration > Views and Reports
    • By default, a list of all Views is displayed
    • Optionally, select Reports to display a list of all reports
  2. Optionally, use the Alphabet Links to find an item by name
  3. Navigate to the item of interest and click the Edit link
  4. Use the instructions at Edit this View or Edit a Report

2.2 Delete Views

  1. Click Settings > Administration > Views and Reports
    • By default, a list of All Views is displayed; Optionally, select All Reports to display a list of all reports
  2. Optionally, use the Alphabet Links to find an item by name
  3. Navigate to the item of interest and click the Delete link
  4. Click the [OK] button to delete the item
Note: See Recycle Bin for more details on deleted views.

2.3 Best Practice for Standard Views

Standard Views are created because they are meaningful to most users, and generally do not need to be modified. If you find that a Standard View does not meet your needs, we strongly recommend that you save the Standard View under another name, and make the changes you require to the new View. This will preserve the original View for other users (who may like it just as it is), and it will allow this View to be used as a template to create additional customized views as your business needs change and grow.

If you attempt to save changes to a Standard View, you will be asked to confirm the action. A similar alert message will be displayed if you attempt to delete a Standard View.

2.4 Deletion and the Recycle Bin

This bears repeating: Changes made here are global - all users are affected when a View or Report is Edited or Deleted.

When a User deletes an item using Views Management, it is sent to the User's Recycle Bin

  • The item is deleted for ALL other Users
  • The item can only be restored (undeleted) by the User that deleted the item
When Deleting: Affects:
Standard Views
  • Deleted for everyone
  • Can only be restored (undeleted) by the User who deleted the item
  • Not visible in other users' Recycle Bin
  • Cannot be restored if Deleted from the Recycle Bin (Delete Forever)
Global or Public Views
  • Deleted for everyone
  • Can only be restored (undeleted) by the User who deleted the item
  • Not visible in other users' Recycle Bin
My View or Private Views
  • Deleted for the User who created this view
  • Deleted for Users who have Visiblity rights to this view
  • Can only be restored (undeleted) by the User who deleted the item
Personal tools